Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs

Well folks, it’s been well over a month since my last post on here and I’ve read some really great books, and had a few minor adventures. I’d like to use this little forum to plug a website that I started using to track what I’m reading – goodreads.com. It’s a great way to keep track of your bookshelves and have some commentary with other people who are reading or who have read what you’re reading.

At any rate. 

While waiting for my latest crop of books to show up from the internet, I borrowed a book by Chuck Klosterman called “Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs: A Low Culture Manifesto” and was really impressed. Boiled down, it could be described as a social commentary based on pop culture as seen through the eyes of Chuck Klosterman, someone who is roughly my age, if a bit older. He does a really great job at capturing the overtones of pop culture through specific examples, citing Saved by the Bell and writing an entire chapter based on Pamela Anderson.

One of the parts of the book that I found highly amusing was his take on dating, and his “23 Questions I ask on a first date”. Some are pretty amusing, and all are great conversation starters, if a bit over the top at times. Check out one guy’s responses to his questions here

One of my favorite questions is this:

“You have a brain tumor. Though there is no discomfort at the moment, this tumor would unquestionably kill you in six months. However, your life can (and will) be saved by an operation; the only downside is that there will be a brutal incision to your frontal lobe. After the surgery, you will be significantly less intelligent. You will still be a fully functioning adult, but you will be less logical, you will have a terrible memory, and you will have little ability to understand complex concepts or difficult ideas. The surgery is in two weeks. How do you spend the next fourteen days?”

I like this question because of the questions that stem from it. Would you want to leave your mark on life prior to essentially losing your life? This is a similar question that was brought up in Keyes’ Flowers for Algernon. (If you haven’t read it, go pick it up, it’s a quick read and well worth the effort). I won’t go into a full and complex answer to this question here, however, I’d like to think that I would do my best to come to terms with those closest to me. I think that I’d want to reconcile any thing that’s been unreconciled, and visit all of my closest friends at least one last time while I was still “myself.” Of course, I’d blog all about it here for your reading pleasure. :)

All in all, I found the book entertaining, funny, and interesting. It was a good light read that was both well thought out and well written. Check it out as a read between your next book, or while on travel.

One Response to “Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs”

  1. Free Central » Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs Says:

    […] o0kor3anbebe0o85 wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptWhile waiting for my latest crop of books to show up from the internet, I borrowed a book by Chuck Klosterman called “Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs: A Low Culture Manifesto” and was really impressed. Boiled down, it could be described as … […]

Leave a Reply

