Camping is fun.

I went tubing down the Shenandoah River this Saturday followed by some camping just off the river.

Mr Brown, Sancho, a big group of friends, and I all partook in the adventure.

Setting up camp:

Tubing was fun, if a bit slow at times, the tubes were brightly colored and most even came with convenient cup holders. We also opted for a floating-cooler to keep our beverages nice and chilly. Alas, we got the small one and ran out about an hour before the trip ended. Oh well.

I tossed my camera inside a zip-lock bag and threw it in the cooler. Alas, when I took out the camera for a photo, the lens immediately fogged up. Thus, this was my last shot from the water:

The river got pretty shallow at times, but it moved along nicely for the most part, and we only had to stand up and dislodge ourselves once or twice.

Mr Brown jumped out of his Tube into the (seemingly) deep water and managed to gash his foot pretty good on a rock.

He ended up having to get stitches the next day, but managed to pony up for the rest of the tubing adventure and camping for the night.

To solve that old, sustainable light issue, Mr Brown packed a few glow sticks. Little did he know that they came with strings attached and were perfect for raver-based fun.

Everything’s great in O-8:

Camping out is always great, but my favorite part is sitting by the fire and watching the embers move in the flame.

While tooling around with the settings on my camera, I found a new mode that takes a string of pictures, presumably to patch together at a later time, for I really can’t see another use for it. That is, until I took this set:

As you all know, I loves me some light-art.

There was a full moon out and I did my best to capture it’s essence filtering down through the leafy trees:

Here’s a link to the full size which does it slightly more justice.

All in all, it was a great time. I fell asleep relatively early (just before midnight) and awoke to the sound of playing children at 7:30 in the morning. We were supposed to hike ‘Old Rag’ mountain but due to Mr. Brown’s injury (and a serious case of laziness) we opted to head back to Arlington and take in some calories at the Silver Diner instead.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Camping is fun.”

  1. Jenny Says:

    Hey that looks like fun! Where is Shenandoah River ?

  2. The Alaskan Says:

    The tubing place is http://www.downriver.com/ and we camped at the site just across the one lane bridge from the canoe company. It’s the South Fork of the Shenandoah and is just outside of Front Royal off 66 in Virginia.

Leave a Reply

