Luray Caverns and Camping

Lois Lane and I trekked out to do some camping and canoeing with Mr. Brown and Matilda a few weekends ago and it was a GREAT way to spend the Labor day weekend.

Here’s some shots:

The river was lazy and smooth all weekend

With nothing but blue skies and some calm clouds

Mr Brown had a birthday, and was enjoying the last of a vice before the big day

I strung up my hammock for an afternoon ciesta

The campsite lit up at night with lanterns, campfires, and the full moon

I’ve been meaning to head out to Luray Caverns for some time now, but never really had the motivation to do so. Since we were camping only 20 minutes away though, Lois Lane and I opted for a morning visit to the Caverns befsore trekking back to DC on Sunday. We were not disappointed.

The caverns were discovered ages ago and have been lit up to look truly magnificent. The pictures hardly do it justice, but I’ll show you a bit of what we saw.

Here’s probably the most impressive part of the tour. You can’t really tell, but the ‘stalagmites’ at the bottom of the picture are actually stalactites reflecting in a pool of water from the stalactites above!

(note that I forgot my tripod so had to balance the camera on the cave surface in order to get a good shot that wasn’t washed out by a flash, hence the weird angles and strange foregrounds)

Another shot of the reflection:

Here’s a shot taken from about 4o feet away from the large mass. You can’t really tell how big these things really are without a point of reference, but they’re HUGE!

This big guy stands 40 feet tall and looks like a waterfall. Some also call it the “shaggy dog” which you can sort of see in this picture.

Some of the formations dripped in curtains instead of sharp points as you can see in front of Lois Lane here

We opted to wear the headphones to get a self-paced tour of the caverns.  I really enjoyed the experience. They had two versions for every stop, one that was for kids, and another for adults. I listened to the adult version (exciting stuff) but switched over to the kids version for one of the stops. While the adult version was entertaining, it was a bit dry and fact filled, and the Kids version reminded me of the scene from Jurassic Park where the animated DNA yucks it up to explain the science.

The big white formation in the back is called ‘the ghost’ I believe, because of it’s stark white color and solitude.

Overall it was a great way to spend an hour and well worth the trip. I recommend it to everyone.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Luray Caverns and Camping”

  1. Tom Says:

    I just posted a new blog entry about the very same weekend and then decided to check your blog. All I can say is awesome man… ahhh the memories! Glad you enjoyed the caverns.

    BTW – Still smoke free since September 6th. I think I did it this time! :)

  2. Galaktik Travel Says:

    Interesting post. I have stumbled and twittered this for my friends. Hope others find it as interesting as I did.

Leave a Reply

