Domesticated

I picked up a few new skills this weekend. Due to a last minute switch in venue for Easter, I found myself needing to pull some things together at the last minute:

  1. I cooked a ham for the first time.
    1. Lesson learned: 9.5 lbs of ham is way too much food for four adults and two children.
  2. I made frosting for the first time.
    1. Lesson learned: the KitchenAid is your friend. This would have been a pain in the butt otherwise.
  3. I frosted a cake for the first time.
    1. Lesson learned: Buy your cakes. This was a royal pain.

The ham was surprisingly simple to cook. I had a moment of panic, though, when my meat thermometer crapped out on me. Luckily the timing worked out such that it was done when it was supposed to be.

All in all, it was a good Easter dinner if I do say so myself.

Leave a Reply

